Becky Lynch Becomes CBS Sports Wrestler Of The Year

Image via

CBS Sports recently announced their awards for this year as 2018 comes to a close.

Former SmackDown Women’s Champion Becky Lynch came out on top as “Wrestler of the Year” surpassing the likes of Ronda Rousey, Charlotte Flair, Kenny Omega, Johnny Gargano, Kota Ibushi and other award recipients this year.

Check out the full list of CBS Sports year-end awards for 2018 that includes wrestlers and personnel from various promotions.

[adace-ad id=”7797″]

Note: The awards with asterisks are exclusive to WWE

Wrestler of the Year:Becky Lynch (WWE)
WWE Male Wrestler of the Year: Johnny Gargano
NJPW Wrestler of the Year: Kota Ibushi
Match of the Year: Kenny Omega def. Kazuchika Okada (NJPW Dominion 6.9)
WWE Match of the Year: Becky Lynch vs. Charlotte Flair vs. Asuka (TLC)
WWE NXT Match of the Year: Andrade “Cien” Almas def. Johnny Gargano (NXT TakeOver: Philadelphia)
Tag Team of the Year: The Usos (WWE)
Rookie of the Year: Ronda Rousey (WWE)
Commentator of the Year: Mauro Ranallo (NXT)
Comeback Wrestler of the Year: Daniel Bryan (WWE)
Breakthrough Wrestler of the Year*: Buddy Murphy (205 Live)
Feud of the Year*: Johnny Gargano vs. Tomasso Ciampa (NXT)
Best Pay-Per-View of the Year*:  TLC: Tables, Ladders, and Chairs
Best Moment of the Year*: Becky Lynch attacks Ronda Rousey on Raw
Best Promo of the Year*: Daniel Bryan before TLC
Smack Talker of the Year*: Samoa Joe
Worst Angle of the Year*: DeGeneration X vs. Brothers of Destruction

[adace-ad id=”3395″]

[adace-ad id=”7795″]

The Man took to Twitter following the announcement to comment on the milestone.

[adace-ad id=”7792″]

Lynch currently doesn’t hold the title but that makes little difference. The Irish Lasskicker has built her new badass reputation with cutting-edge promos, unmatched social media game, and top class in-ring performances that have seen her steal the spotlight in two of WWE’s best matches of 2018 – that too in the past 3 months (Evolution, TLC).

Click here to read WWE’s offical year-end awards for 2018.