Listing the Biggest Winners of WWE NXT Year-End Awards 2020

As is the tradition every year, WWE announced the year-end awards for NXT on this week’s episode, which served as the final broadcast for 2020.

A total of nine awards were presented on the show, with a variety of winners spread across both divisions.

Breakout Star of the Year: Shotzi Blackheart won the Breakout Star of the year award, following her incredible 2020 which saw her captain a side at WarGames PPV.

Future Star of the Year: Johnny Gargano’s protege Austin Theory was primed as the Future Star of the Year.

Male and Female Competitors of the Year: Adam Cole and Io Shirai won the Male and Female Competitors of the year respectively. Shirai also won the Overall Competitor of the year award. Both the stars spent the majority of 2020 with the top titles on the brand and deservedly won the top awards in their respective divisions.

Tag Team of the Year: Adam Cole-led Undisputed Era rightly won the Tag Team of the Year award.

Best Match of the Year: Current NXT Champion Finn Balor’s incredible battle against Kyle O’Reilly at NXT Takeover 31 was awarded the Best Match of 2020. Both the stars suffered injuries after the match, due to the intense nature of the bout.

Best Show of the Year: NXT Takeover WarGames was declared as the Best Show of the year, while Adam Cole vs Pat McAfee (which headlined WarGames), won the Rivalry of the year.

WWE also announced the Slammy Awards for 2020 last week, which rewarded the best performances on the main roster.