Participants for the AEW Women’s Championship Eliminator Tournament Announced

The 16 participants for the AEW Women’s Title Eliminator Tournament have been announced.

The tournament, which will begin this February, will have matches in both the U.S. and Japan and will feature Japanese women superstars as well as AEW and NWA talent. The tournament will determine the number 1 contender for the AEW Women’s Championship.

The first match has already been announced, though the match date and venue have yet to be revealed. It will be the first every AEW Women’s Champion Riho against the NWA Women’s World Champion Serena Deeb.

The other women who will be participating will be as follows:

Japanese side:

  • Aja Kong
  • Yuka Sakazaki
  • Veny
  • Emi Sakura
  • Ryo Mizunami
  • Mei Suruga
  • Rin Kadokura
  • Maka Itoh

Aside from the aforementioned Riho and Deeb, the other participants in the American side are:

  • Britt Baker
  • Tay Conti
  • Thunder Rosa
  • Nyla Rose
  • Anna Jay
  • Layla Hirch

The winner of the tournament will get a title shot against the current AEW Women’s Champion Hikaru Shida.

Shida is the third woman to hold the title. The two previous title holders, Riho and Rose, are also participants in the tournament.  

Shida recently Tweeted that she is in Japan and it was to participate in the tournament.