Royal Rumble 2019 Set To Have A “Repeat Winner”

Royal Rumble
Image via

It’s officially October, which means that the 2019 Royal Rumble is now only around three months away, so it comes as no surprise that WWE already has a plan when it comes to the winner of the annual event.

Last year’s Royal Rumble was won by Shinsuke Nakamura, who went on to lose his match with AJ Styles at WrestleMania and has since been on an underwhelming run on SmackDown Live, which is why many fans hope that WWE is able to get not just the winner but also the storyline right as part of this year’s Road to WrestleMania.

[adace-ad id=”7797″]

WrestleVotes recently broke the news on their Twitter account that WWE’s plan right now is for it to be a repeat winner. Whilst many of the WWE Universe have pondered through the past winners and come up with the likes of Randy Orton, John Cena, Triple H, and even Roman Reigns, it appears that there are only three real possibilities.

[adace-ad id=”7795″]

Shawn Michaels is a good shout since he is set to make his return to the ring in the coming weeks and has already won The Rumble on two occasions. Rey Mysterio stole the show at last year’s Royal Rumble and set the record with his win back in 2006 when he lasted over an hour in the match or The Rock who first won the Rumble back in 2000 and is still the odds-on favorite.

WWE could have a number of plans linked to each of these possibilities, but right now it appears to back up the theory that The Rock is set to return, win and then go on to face Roman Reigns for the Universal Championship at WrestleMania 35.