The Rock Is This Year’s MTV Generation Awardee

There are other WWE Superstars who could be walking away with an MTV award

Image via

The Rock may have been replaced in the Fast & Furious franchise by John Cena, but as Dwayne Johnson he’s still arguably the bigger movie star – a fact that seems to be still acknowledged by this year’s MTV Movie & TV awards.

Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson has been announced as this year’s recipient of the MTV Generation Award.

[adace-ad id=”7797″]

The Generation award was established in 2005 as the successor to the Lifetime Achievement Award. The Generation Award is meant to celebrate great achievements in movies and, according to WWE, announcement about the award is supposed to be given to “an artist for a variety of impressive roles, personal and professional flair, and level of talent.”

Previous recipients of the Generation Award are Tom Cruise, Sandra Bullock, Robert Downey Jr., and Chris Pratt.

[adace-ad id=”19218″]

[adace-ad id=”7795″]

The Rock will receive the award at this year’s MTV Movie & TV Awards to be held on June 17 at the Barker Hanger in Santa Monica, California.

[adace-ad id=”3395″]

[adace-ad id=”7792″]

While the Rock getting the Generation Award is a sure thing, there are other WWE Superstars who could be walking away with an MTV award at the end of the night.

The Rock’s cousin, who will also be in his upcoming movie “Hobbs & Shaw”, Roman Reigns has been nominated for Best Real-Life Hero. He’s up against Alex Honnold, Hannah Gadsby, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, and Serena Williams.

[adace-ad id=”19202″]

Meanwhile, the “Winner Take All” Triple Threat Match at WrestleMania 35 between Ronda Rousey, Becky Lynch, and Charlotte Flair is nominated for Best Fight. The MTV award winners are determined by fan vote and Lynch previously tried to rally the fans to vote for the women’s match.

Other nominees for Best Fight are Josh Brolin and Chris Evans for Avengers: Endgame, Brie Larson and Gemma Chan for Captain Marvel, Maisie Williams vs. White Walkers on Game of Thrones, and Ruth Bader Ginsburg vs. Inequality in RBG.