WWE Announces Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic Tournament for 2021

WWE announced the return of the Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic tournament, with the sixth edition of the show set to begin in two weeks’ time.

The Undisputed Era, represented by Adam Cole and Roderick Strong was announced as the first entrants for the tournament. TUE has won the tournament back in 2018, but it was Cole and Kyle O’Reilly representing the team in that edition.

The first edition held in 2015 was won by Samoa Joe and the current NXT Champion Finn Balor. The 2016 edition was won by Authors of Pain, who were released earlier this year.

TUE won in 2018, Ricochet and Aleister Black took home the gold in 2019, while ‘BroserWeights’ Matt Riddle and Pete Dunne won the title earlier this year.

WWE is all set to present NXT New Year’s Evil next week, followed by the January 13 episode which will be the opening round of this year’s Tag Team Classic.

Although WWE hasn’t released the brackets yet, the tourney will most likely have eight teams in a single knockout format, similar to the previous three editions. The first two editions featured sixteen teams in the tournament.