Event: WWE NXT
Date: January 1, 2020
Location: Full Sail University, Orlando, FL

WWE hosted a special episode of NXT this week, and the first episode of the year featured the yearly awards for different categories, and also the announcement of the 2020 edition of the popular Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic.

The show opened up with Cathy Kelly, Sam Roberts, and Pat Mcafee with a rundown of the top three NXT Takeover matches of the year. Starting in at #3 was the Ladder Match for the vacant NXT Tag Team Championships, featuring Street Profits, Undisputed Era, Forgotten Sons, and Oney Lorcan-Danny Burch.

The match was won by Street Profits, and they ran down the nominees for the Tag-Team of the Year. The Undisputed Era were announced as the winners, and a footage was shown of the stable walking down the ring to collect their plaques from General Manager William Regal.

The next awards to be revealed were the Male Competitor and Female Competitor of the Year. Adam Cole won the top male superstar award, as the Undisputed Era made their way to the ring once again. Cole said he’ll win it once again in 2020, and bragged on about the kind of year he had, including his spectacular run in November.

Shayna Baszler was crowned as the best female superstar, and she was joined by Jessamyn Duke and Marina Shafir for the coronation. Baszler said she won’t slow down after losing the title last month and will continue to walk on the path of destruction.

Johnny Gargano and Adam Cole‘s rivalry from earlier this year was awarded the Best Rivalry of the Year. Both the individuals made their way to the ring, and some tensions flared between the two superstars.

The first-ever Women’s War Games match came in #2 in the top Takeover matches of the year, and the highlights of the match were on display.

Dakota Kai was crowned as the Future Star of the Year, and she cut a menacing promo after receiving the plaque from the General Manager.

The 2020 Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic brackets were announced with NXT UK getting a look-in as well.

  • Imperium (Marcel Barthel and Fabian Aichner) vs. The Forgotten Sons (Wesley Blake and Steve Cutler)
  •  Matt Riddle and Pete Dunne vs. Mark Andrews and Flash Morgan Webster
  • Grizzled Young Veterans (Zack Gibson and James Drake) vs. Kushida and a mystery partner
  • NXT UK Tag Team Champions Gallus (Mark Coffey and Wolfgang) vs. NXT Tag Team Champions The Undisputed ERA (Kyle O’Reilly and Bobby Fish)

NXT Takeover: WarGames was announced as the Takeover of the Year, while Keith Lee took home the Breakout Star of the Year Award. Lee was greeted by Triple H backstage and presented with the plaque.

Johnny Gargano vs, Adam Cole in 2/3 Falls Match for the NXT Championship at Takeover XXV was announced as the Match of The Year. Adam Cole once again took home the Overall Competitor of the Year Award, as he and the rest of the Undisputed Era celebrated in the ring to end the show.